Tortimus Debut

HermansTorti

Location (City and/or State)
Wales
Hi I am new to both this forum and keeping a tortoise,
Tortimus pictured below and known as Torti for short(most of the time) has been a member of the household for a little over a month now, he seems happy in his temporary enclosure he has a 60w heat lamp on 24/7 a white one during the day and a Red one at night, with a UV tube on 12 hours every day.
He lives with us in Wales UK.
upload_2018-12-23_13-21-52.jpeg
upload_2018-12-23_13-22-42.jpeg

HermansTorti

Wales
http://www.reptilesmagazine.com/Reptile-Health/Habitats-Care/Reptile-Lighting-Information

Here's some info on reptile vision, probably best not to use a red lamp. You can use RHP's and CHE's with wide dome fixture. I've heard of others using Zoomed moonlight bulb but have not tried it myself.
Thanks for the link, I have just today read that red light is not ideal the reptile store I got the tortoise from recommended it when we noticed the temp was dropping too low in the enclosure, I am going to look at getting one of them ceramic heaters very shortly.
I’m already working on designing a larger enclosure and have done a lot of reading within these forums on substrate etc. Again the bedding in the enclosure is what was supplied by the shop we bought him and for the time being is all I have. I am looking to introduce some more humidity too.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA

HermansTorti

Wales
Hi, and welcome!

Please read the care sheet for Hermanns tortoises that we have pinned at the top of our Hermanns section. Looking at your pictures, I think there are some changes that might be considered after you read the care sheet:

https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/sticky-hermanns-tortoise-care-sheet-updated.101410/