I'm too worried!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Knack4things

5 Year Member
Tom answered me on another thread, but still, I'm new at owning a tortoise so I have questions. :)

Do you think my sulcata tortoise, Cas, is healthy? I'm a paranoid keeper, I've had him for about three weeks now, he's just a baby, not more than a month. He seems to be gaining weight, as I weigh him every Friday. For the first few days he ate the pellet food that he came with. Then I went out and bought him Grassland Tortoise food and he devoured that for about a week along with some greens and has available grasses to eat outside.

He lives outside in an enclosure on the ground. Temps are in the 90's to 80 degrees, though we got a cold front and it lowered to about 78 degrees two nights ago, which is when his strange activity started. It's still pretty humid outside, we had a day or two of rain before the cold front. In my previous post Tom said it was normal behavior for them to slow down eating when temps drop, sounds about right, but...

Despite having available grasses, I usually bring him inside once a day to eat some grassland food so he gets his calcium and vitamins that he needs. Yesterday he ate a few bites but today he hasn't eaten his pellet food at all. He actually turns his head when I try to feed him! I even tried mixing a little peach/mango applesauce in it, but nope, no interest whatsoever, he just stomps on past the food. Tried to eat my bright, colorful key chain though. XP

So here's the thing. He has no discharge from his nose or mouth. He had a normal bowel movement yesterday afternoon. Good coloring on his shell. He moved around when I brought him inside and sticks his arms and legs out when I pick him up. His eyes are clear.

The only strange thing is that he occasionally rubs his face against his legs- This seemed to happen more yesterday than today before I soaked him a few times and wiped his eyes/nose area.