Hi I'm new to Russians and this forum

Location (City and/or State)
Hertfordshire
Hi all. I'm vicky
Been reading so many great things on this forum Thanks everyone!!
I live in the UK & i became the very proud owner of a Russian tortoise just over 4 weeks ago .
His name is timmy and he's approx 3years old. He seems to have settled in well and I'm really enjoying him.
Here's a few pics of him xx

Attachments

• 20190330_125746.jpg
    20190330_125746.jpg
    6.4 MB · Views: 19
  • 20190330_123537.jpg
    20190330_123537.jpg
    6.4 MB · Views: 20
  • 20190331_151114.jpg
    20190331_151114.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 21

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Hi Vicky and welcome to you and Timmy
I'm in the UK too. This certainly is a great place for up to date advice.
if you haven't already found them there are some good caresheets in the Russian section of the Species threads which will tell you all about temps, diet, substrate etc.
The Beginners Mistakes thread will help you avoid problems experienced by others, and the Enclosures thread is full of great ideas.
www.thetortoisetable.org.uk is a good guide for which plants are safe or not.
So plenty to read but ask as many questions as you like there will always be someone around to help.

Ray--Opo

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Palm Bay Fl
Welcome Vicky, glad to see Timmy eating the vitamin block. Tried one with my sully and it just ended up molding.

Hertfordshire
Thanks all.
I think he's happy it's me that worries that I'm not doing things correctly. He doesn't burrow which bothers me as nearly all others I have read about do.
He had coco husk & coir as a substrate when I got him but I have changed 1/3 of this to topsoil hoping he will like it better.

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Hi Vicky

Please could you post some photos of your enclosure and lighting as they will help us to help you.

I recommend you read the TFO care guides and compare them with your setup.