Hi I'm new and looking for advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

KassyO

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Mobile AL
Hi,
My name is Kassy and I live in the Mobile area of southern Alabama . I have wanted to get a pet tortoise for years and I am finally ready to get things put together. I want a tort that has personality, but I am new to owning a one so I want to do as much research as possible on what breed I should get.

I live in a very humid and hot part of the US, I am actually close to the beach (about 20-30 min away) I know that turtles do very well in this swampy climate, but I want to make sure that I get a tort that will be comfortable and healthy in this weather. Personality wise I think that a Russian would be great because I prefer a tort that is strong willed and not shy. I would really love to have a Sulcata but I don't have the room for one of those big guys.

I live in a small house with a large front yard and a smaller shady back yard. I have plenty of time to care for my tort and the only other animals that I have are old declawed cats that stay indoors for the most part and honestly are too lazy to even attack bugs -_- but I know I will have to take them into consideration when I have my tort inside because they could still stress him/her out.

Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated and any recommendations on what tort breed would be best for me would be fantastic. Thanks in advance and just a side note this forum is fantastic I have already learned so much about the proper care etc of torts =D

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
Hi and welcome! I am a firm believer that if your heart is set on a Russian, but you get something else, it will never "fit" you quite right. I would of course suggest maybe checking into a Cherryhead/Redfoot. Is size (other then big like a sulcata) a factor?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Kassy: