Hi everybody!

AZTorts

Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
I guess I'll just jump right in with a quick intro. I am new to the world of desert tortoises, however I have 2 box turtle rescues that I've had for going on 3 years. I wasn't looking to get tortoises but it just kinda happened the way so many things in life do. I went to buy a cactus in May and came home with 4 desert tortoises that were 'gifted' to me. They will be a year old in Sept. Then my tortoise research began. One of the first things I learned through my research is that there is a whole lot of disagreement when it comes to what to feed them. What one source says to feed them, another source says to never feed them. What mine all seem to love the most is grapevine leaves. Please don't tell me they're bad for them. LOL

Anyway, I have an inside terrarium where I keep them at night or if I'm not home to be able to go out every few minutes to check on them. I put them outside in a small area separate from the turtles. It is fully enclosed with a roof...lots of shade. I check on them all the time when they are out there because they seem to get themselves into odd predicaments. Their enclosure is a work in progress. As soon as they are outside they really come to life until it gets too warm, then they nap. LOL They all have different personalities too.

This looks like a fun and informative site. I'm looking forward to digging through it for information as time allows. I have so many questions.... I will be looking through the threads on here to see if I can find my answers without asking what may be a bunch of redundant questions.

Regards,
Michele

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome. Grape leaves are a great food for them. Here are some more good ones:
Mulberry leaves
Grape vine leaves
Hibiscus leaves
African hibiscus leaves
Blue hibiscus leaves
Rose of Sharon leaves
Rose leaves
Geraniums
Gazanias
Lavatera
Pansies
Petunias
Hostas