Hello. I own a dinosaur!

Hey everyone who took the time to read this. I'm glad you're all here and spreading your knowledge and wisdom on these interesting and amazing animals. I've had Franklin for about a year now and I'm still learning how to care for him properly. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Little bit about my boy, Franklin...

• We live in Central Phoenix, Arizona
  • I rescued him from my neighbor's abandoned house. The renter killed himself and I found Franklin several months later after peeking over the block wall.
  • He's about 35 pounds and seemingly healthy.
  • I brought him to a vet about six months ago and got a clean bill of health.
  • Franklin built his own burrow after a few months of living in my backyard.
  • My yard has a fair amount of Bermuda and clover grass, which he eats on the regular.
  • I treat him once a day, usually with a stalk of rainbow chard or some Spring Mix that I won't eat anymore.
  • He's pretty active, but seems to be most active in the summertime, where he paces around the yard and plows through the bushes.
Thank you in advance for any helpful hints as to keeping this strapping young lad happy and healthy.

Jason

2015-03-25 17.43.17.jpg 2015-03-25 19.44.41.png 2015-01-15 16.47.18.jpg 2015-01-15 17.09.56.png 2015-02-10 10.04.22.jpg 2015-02-10 15.27.34.jpg 2015-02-10 15.28.39.jpg 2015-02-10 15.29.00.jpg 2015-02-10 15.29.19.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Jodie

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Spokane Valley WA
Great looking Sulcata. Good job saving him. Welcome to the forum the Sulcata experts are always happy to answer any questions you may have.

tortdad

5 Year Member
NW Houston TX
Nice. If you don't want him to have a burrow you can built him a heated night box.

Thanks for sharing pictures of him.

Do you have a small pond where he can soak himself?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Jason, and welcome to the Forum!