Bloating?

Ihaveeatortoise

Quick question and maybe I'm just being paranoid but does this little guy look a bit bloated? I was talking to him today and noticed that the area around his little arms looked a bit puffy? He always looks so sad and I can't tell if his arms are puffying because he's ducking his head a bit. Sorry, I'm new to tortoises! 20160309_225301.jpg

Kori5

My opinion ( and I'm not an expert) is yes, his arms do look puffy. And his eyes look sunken. Is he dehydrated? Does he poop normal? Soak him :).

Ihaveeatortoise

My opinion ( and I'm not an expert) is yes, his arms do look puffy. And his eyes look sunken. Is he dehydrated? Does he poop normal? Soak him :).

I've never actually seen him poop. I have seen him pee, in fact he pees quite a lot. I've been giving him warm baths each about 20 minutes, he doesn't seem to enjoy them though. Today, he took a nap while bathing.

Kori5

Well sometimes they get puffy if they are constipated because they retain water. Puffiness could also be a sign of renal problems. Do you have all the right temps, what do you feed him? I would give him longer soaks, about an hour and change the water when it gets cold. Hope someone more experienced comments :). It could be nothing, don't worry.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Ya know? I think I misspoke on your other thread. This tortoise looks like a Texas tortoise to me, and not a desert tortoise. But to be sure I'll need to see more pictures...top looking straight down, underside looking straight down and profile.

What you're seeing it a fat tortoise that isn't getting enough exercise for the amount of food he's eating.

Ihaveeatortoise

Ya know? I think I misspoke on your other thread. This tortoise looks like a Texas tortoise to me, and not a desert tortoise. But to be sure I'll need to see more pictures...top looking straight down, underside looking straight down and profile.