When's Enough... Enough??

Status
Not open for further replies.

AnthonyC

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
New York
How can I tell if my 3 baby Sulcatas are being over fed? Am I supposed to measure out their food daily? How much? What I'll usually do is feed them, and whatever is left when it starts to look "wilty" I throw away. A few hours later I'll give them some more. I usually do this 3,4, or sometimes 5x/day. Am I over feeding??--Thanks in advance for your help! :)

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Las Vegas, NV
How much of it are they eating? I am no expert but up to 5x a day might be a bit much. I only feed mine once a day and they rest of the day they graze and on occassion I will give something extra like cactus.

AnthonyC

5 Year Member
New York
The grazing season has come and gone up here in the northeast. 1/2 the time they'll eat all of it and the other 1/2 they'll eat most of it. I usually end up throwing out what's stuck to the bottom of their plate which isn't very much.

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Las Vegas, NV
I would cut it down to 2 maybe even 3 times a day since they can't graze, and maybe make the portion size smaller...

AnthonyC

5 Year Member
New York
I'll give it a shot but it's going to be hard. They always look at me with those big-brown tortoise eyes! :p

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Las Vegas, NV
They are like garbage disposals, and if you feeding them the good stuff they will continue to devour it.

Think of it like a kid and a bag of holloween candy, they will try to eat everything they collected in the first two days. If you let them keep the bag, they will continue to eat the candy even if they are full. They don't have that switch that say's you've had to much candy and it's time to stop so they will continue to eat that candy until they are sick. So it's up to the parent to take that bag of candy and to say you are only getting one or two pieces a day and that's it. :p:p:p

AnthonyC

5 Year Member
New York