Tortoise Keeps Rubbing His Eyes?

missjazzage

Location (City and/or State)
US
Hello! I've noticed in the past few days my tortoise keeps rubbing his eyes. In addition his eyes don't look quite normal/how they usually look. I recently cleaned out his cage and used the same bedding but used a small quantity of the sand my skink uses below it but my tortoise's bedding completely covers it. The only thing I've changed than that is that I gave him a little bit of strawberry the other day and saw he might have gotten some strawberry juice in his eyes because he rubbed his eye while he was eating it.
Like I've said it's been a few days now and I'm starting to worry. I've given him some baths and he'd rub his eyes in the water. I hoped that would fix it but it hasn't. Even when I let him out he does walk as fast as he usually does. I'm afraid he has an eye infection but I'm just not sure, nor am I sure what would be the next step :/

Thank you so much! I'm very new to my tortoise; it's really my younger brother's but I've really taken to him so I've been the one working with him mostly now, as well as the skink.

Any help would be appreciated!

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
This usually comes down to incorrect lighting. Please show what type of bulbs you have.
Turn off your light until someone here can determine if it is a harmful coil type.
They have caused blindness.

missjazzage

US
It's definitely not a coil type. I remember when my brother first got his tortoise the vet told him and my mother to purchase a certain bulb so he can receive the vitamins or rays he needs. I can't remember what the exact type is but I know it was in the $40 range. However it is possible because I have been having trouble with my automatic timer so it's possible it could be lighting?

tortdad

5 Year Member
NW Houston TX