Testing for Parasites

erdavis

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Gainesville, Fl (Go Gators!)
Lately I have been thinking about testing for parasites in my Sulcata just for preventative measures. I have never done so before. I texted my sister because she is a vet tech near me and I asked her how much it would cost for me to bring in a fecal sample and have it tested. She said that she wasn't sure and she'd have to ask because the only reptile she's seen there is a bearded dragon (she's hasn't been working there long at all). She also asked me to find out what kind of parasites I am looking for. Can you guys help give me some information? I know some vets may have me bring him in, and that's fine I'd just rather not stress him out if I can. But what type of test do you get and what type of parasites specifically should I get him tested for?
If it tells you anything, he's only about 2.5 pounds right now.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
General: There are over 500 identified reptile nematodes. Most occur in the intestine and stomach though some larva can migrate into the lungs and throat. Those most commonly found are 'roundworms' which have an indirect life cycle. These can rob the tortoise of up to 40% of available nutrients in food ingested.

Hookworms have a direct life cycle and huge loads can build up in the system in a very short time. Pinworms also have a direct life cycle and commonly cause an obstruction in the intestinal canal. Strongyloides have a direct life cycle, and these can cause severe diarrhoea, mucous in droppings, and sometimes respiratory distress owing to larva invading the lungs.

A bit of info from the Tortoise Trust site.

erdavis

5 Year Member
Thanks!
So definitely roundworms, hookworms, pinworms, stongyloids.

Anything else that I should make SURE the vet tests for? I just want to know which ones I need to get tested for for sure before I start calling vets.