Sulcata Sad Mystery

Lex

5 Year Member
First off, Hi, I'm new to the forum, sort of, I have been here a long time reading but never had a voice because I didn't need one thus far, but unfortunately I do now. I ordered 2 beautiful baby sulcatas from a popular reptile website that I was very pleased with. They were bright eyed and active upon arrival a week and a half ago, sadly they both died these past few days. I know what you're thinking, this is some n00b with no experience with animals, quite the contrary though, I have a lot of experience and I also have 2 other sulcata hatchlings (around 4 months older) that are still doing fine. Heres the set up: 40 gallon breeder kept outside on warm days (so here in MS there are quite a few of those) they are kept on peat sphagnum moss mixed with topsoil for substrate. They have a shallow tupperware lid water dish, and a plant saucer food dish. also a warm hide and a humid hide. The substrate is kept moist but not wet and when they are inside (which is currently) they are kept under a mercury vapor bulb with the other half of the cage covered with a hot wet towel to lock in humidity (not the whole tank though, the area around the light and a couple inches from that is left open to allow proper ventilation). Their diet is alternated weekly between spring mix and collard greens as the staple. They are offered soaked mazuri with shredded carrots and a herpivite and calcium powder mixed in every 4th feeding or so. I also give them hibiscus flowers and leaves, picked grass, dandelions, mallow plant, and all the other good weeds from the pesticide free yard daily. And last but not least they're soaked in warm water for 15 to 20 minutes every night. Basically I do everything tom says to do. Sadly though these babies came in and were asymptomatic then literally over night (on like the 2nd night) the first one died with its only symptom being its plastron sucked in at the "belly button" area, and the plastron was still hard too. A