Spur Thigh substrate

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortoisecrush

5 Year Member
I am still learning to work this site so forgive me :)

I have an african spur thigh and we just put coconut bark in for substrate and it seems it is a bit hard for him to move around in it, is there something I could mix with it to make it a little more dense?

Thank you!! :)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Tortoisecrush:

Did you ever tell us your name and where you are?

I don't like coconut bark. Like you say, its hard for them to walk on. Some use Bed-a-Beast, which is your bark all ground up into dust-like particles. Some use cypress mulch or orchid bark and some use clean dirt.

tortoisecrush

5 Year Member
emysemys said:
Hi Tortoisecrush:

Did you ever tell us your name and where you are?

I don't like coconut bark. Like you say, its hard for them to walk on. Some use Bed-a-Beast, which is your bark all ground up into dust-like particles. Some use cypress mulch or orchid bark and some use clean dirt.

I'm sorry I did not! My name is Kirsten and I live in Arizona. I live in an apartment in Scottsdale... So no yard for him to graze in :( I tried posting pics but it keeps saying they are too large. I bought the tortoise house by zoo med. I can not go buy something new and change his substrate again do maybe I could mix something with it?

tortoisecrush

5 Year Member
So I went ahead and bought some cypress mulch. I am goin to mix som w the coconut bark. Please tell me that is ok!!??

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
It should be ok. After you get it all mixed up, pour a pitcher full of water over it and mix it all up with your hand. Then pat it down flat with the palm of your hand.

tortoisecrush

5 Year Member
emysemys said: