Russian shell chip

Status
Not open for further replies.

wosman

5 Year Member
Hello everyone

I'm new to this and i tried using the searchbar but to no avail.

Anyways, I have a russian tortoise with a small chip in his chell (about 2x3mm). I was wondering if it would be a good idea to clean it with lukewarm water then add a bandaid overtop?

thanks

ascott

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Apple Valley, California
Welcome to the Forum....what caused the chip? I mean like is it a minor exterior chip or is it a crack in the shell? What size is your tortoise in relation to the chip? Are you able to post a pic of the chipped area? :)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Wosman:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

May we know your name and where you are?

Unless you know for a fact that this chip is new, its more than likely an old scar and a band aid isn't necessary. Can you post a picture?

wosman

5 Year Member
ascott said:
Welcome to the Forum....what caused the chip? I mean like is it a minor exterior chip or is it a crack in the shell? What size is your tortoise in relation to the chip? Are you able to post a pic of the chipped area? :)

I'm not really sure what caused it, I just saw it today. I'd say its a chip rather than a crack. I'll try and take a picture asap. in the mean time i took this pic from google and the red circle marks how big the chip is.

Thanks so much for any help :D

Attachments

• RussianTortoiseWHTTo_Ap7To.jpg
    RussianTortoiseWHTTo_Ap7To.jpg
    20.3 KB · Views: 188

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
:D LOL....you are funny (and I mean that in the kindess and funest way) I was expecting a huge chip and whoooo thank goodness it is "tiny" (according to your red indicator) and I would not think you would need any band aid either....I think that he likely scuffed it----as these guys are acrobats :D

wosman

5 Year Member
ascott said: