Relation Growth//Pyramiding//Age?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ulkal

5 Year Member
Hi everyone.

I am sorry to bring the pyramiding topic up again- I know it has been discussed here a lot. The experiences shared here were and are invaluable to me in the care of my 2 leopard babies(that I got 2 months ago-they are 8 months now) So happy to have them, they are beautiful and interesting animals. Its fun to research on and care for them.
The breeder kept them pretty dry I think and if it was not for this forum I would keep them the same. So thank you all so much.

Still I have a couple of questions. I hope they did not come up- I searched but didnt find ;)

My two babcockis are 2,5" and roughly 3" and have grown 1/4-1/2" since I got them. I think both show signs of pyramiding, one more one less. Maybe its due to the conditions at the breeder, but I do not want to blame anyone, because I am a newbie and therefore just entered the try and error phase.
So far from what I got, the growth up to 6-8" is decisive for them. But also their first months. My question now is whether pyramiding is more dependent on age or growth...logic makes me lean to the latter...
Do you think I can still grow them relatively smooth, for they are rly small still? I am mostly concerned for their health(do not want them to be inconvenienced when they adults because of pyramids).They will stay amazing even if not entirely smooth(as long as they are healthy).

Also, some vaguely related question: they do not like the plastic humidity box-do you think I can use coco coir pots(the ones you get at home depot)
to build their humidity hut? I don't want anything to mold...

Thanks for your help. If it already came up,pls tell/link/do not scold me :)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi and welcome to the Forum!