Redfoot Tortoise Diet

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrscanavan

5 Year Member
Hi, all --

I'm very new at this. I just purchased a redfoot tortoise for my 6th grade science classroom. (His name is Harold :) ) I have had him about a week, and I'm still learning his eating habits. So far he seems to only eat the fruit I give him, not the greens. I purchased him from Petco. In his cage at the store he had some (basic looking) lettuce and some tortoise pellets. So far for me he he seems to LOVE soft/juicy fruits -- strawberries, kiwi, grapefruit, and some success with apples. As far as I can tell, he hasn't touched greens that have been offered at all (kale, though i've sinced learned he should only have this in small quantities, and collard greens). Should I quit offering the fruits until he eats his greens? Also, what is a reasonable expectation for how much he should eat in a day?

He is approximately 5-6 inches long on the bottom of his shell. (Not sure what his age is?) He is quite active and doesn't seem to mind being handled. The kids have not touched him yet, but when I chat with him he allows me to pick him up easily and scratch the top of his head as well as under his chin.

I am also having trouble getting the humidity in his cage to where it should be. I have a 75watt UV light suspended above his cage, as well as a small adhesive heat pad under 1/2 his tank. This keeps the temp just above 80, which is good, but the humidity doesn't seem to rise despite repeated sprays with a water bottle throughout the day.

Any tips/advice would be greatly appreciated :) It's difficult to sift through web content, and to judge its reliability.

Thanks so much!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi mrscanavan:

Welcome to the forum!