red-footed tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

heyprettyrave

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
New York
hello im new to having a tortoise, i got her April 8th and her name is Ophelia. But im having alittle trouble with some things. I cant get my humidity up to where it needs to be and i've bought everything they told me. help please.

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
USA
Welcome to the forum :)

Can you tell us how you have him/her set-up?

Danny

N2TORTS

5 Year Member
Yes as dan stated ... what type of enclosure? ... There are several ways to increase humidity ... but need a few *facts*
:)WELCOME TO YOUR NEW ADDICTION:)
Happy Tort~n
JD:)

heyprettyrave

5 Year Member
New York
:) thanks. well i bought a 40 gallon tank and it has a screen covering. and i was suggested to buy like mulch for the ground.

heyprettyrave

5 Year Member
New York
apparently she is 6 months, or so they said at Petco. and thanks. but could i please have somebody answer my qeustions, kinda need to get it figured out. please

elegans

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
If she came from Petco she is probably a Venezuelan import that was farm raised and probably has parasites. Get her established as she has bee shipped at least a couple of times recently which does cause some stress. Get a fecal sample from her and get it tested and treat for the appropriate "bugs." They usually do quite well. There are many people here that are more than willing to help you with any fine tuning that you need to do. There is no one right way though so don't worry about that. Congrats on your new tortoise. Douglas

Candy

10 Year Member!
Alhambra, CA