Obtaining a redfoot.

Status
Not open for further replies.

alongtheway

5 Year Member
Hi!

I am looking to obtain a redfoot tortoise and I've been looking for a few months.

I really don't want to buy from PETCO, even to my eyes, their tortoises looked ill and as much as I would like to rescue it I am new to tortoises and I don't think a sick tortoise is the way to start.

The other option seems to be purchasing online. I'm again apprehensive to go this route. Many of the online vendors seem sketchy at best, and I'm concerned about the poor thing being shipped.

Ideally, I would like to buy from a breeder or adopt, but I have not been able to find anything in the Northeast.

I'm willing to travel within reason, does anyone have any suggestions as to where to obtain a tortoise?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi alongtheway:

Welcome to the forum!! May we know your name and where you're from?

We have several redfoot breeders here on the forum. If you go through the "for sale" threads you should be able to find them, then send them a PM or email. They'll give you all the info you need on shipping or even if shipping can be accomplished this time of year.

Nay

10 Year Member!
Belchertown Ma
HI, Welcome!! you'll love it here.
I'm in Mass and have this really nice RF youngster? Not sure what you were looking for. Healthy happy,just one too many.
PM me.
NAy

alongtheway

5 Year Member
Hi again.

This is a fantastic community, the immediate responses are amazing.

I am near Philadelphia PA, but like I said, moderate travel is of course not a big deal.

Please excuse me excluding my name. I have a very, very unusual name and while I am not at all concerned about providing it to any one of you, I try to keep my publicly searchable presence online very low. If anyone really want to know feel free to PM me and I'll tell you :p

Thank you for the warm welcome and the suggestions!

Laura