Night black heat light?

Darcy&Elizabeth2019

Location (City and/or State)
Georgia
Hi my names Nevaeh and I'm new to this tortoise group. Today I got two sulcata tortoise for Christmas. They are 4 months old and the cutest things ever. Right now I am setting up their tank and with came two different lights a day light and a night light. I was wondering if they need the night heat light. Since the kit is for reptiles I didn't know if it should be used for them. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
Welcome
Most of those lights and kits are junk.
It should be dark at night.
Also, read up on this forum about both keeping Sulcata and the hazards of keeping pairs.

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
If it's not very cold, no.
Although I don't keep Sulcata and I don't know the correct temperature range.

For heat without light, we use CHE
And during the day you need heat and a UV source.

Attachments

• 20191111_173923.jpg
    20191111_173923.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 8

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I keep baby tortoises at 80-85F degrees day and night. My house is cold at night so to maintain the 80-85 F degrees I use a radiant heat panel. This provides heat without light.

Darcy&Elizabeth2019

Georgia
I keep baby tortoises at 80-85F degrees day and night. My house is cold at night so to maintain the 80-85 F degrees I use a radiant heat panel. This provides heat without light.
At this moment I don’t have a heat panel. So at this moment should I use the night light?

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA
Greetings