Newbie here :) need help with lighting

Chloe2003

I went to purchase all my lighting and other needs to be prepared for my new sulcata. I got such conflicting advice from several employees at the store. I'm pretty sure I bought stuff I do not need. Can you please tell me exactly what bulbs I need. My hubby is building me a tort table but for the next month he will be housed in a spare 30 gallon tank. Yes I know that's wrong but my hubby works 6 days a week so it can't be done over night. My baby will arrive Tuesday and I want to have everything I need. Also is there a website that's cheaper than my local petsmsrt? I can ordered everything I need today and pay overnight and get here Tuesday. Thanks again for your help. Oh my baby is right at 3 mths old. He's only been on pellet food and I've been reading a lot about adding greens so please just give any help. It will be greatly appreciated.

shelley11

When you get it feed it lots of weeds the best thing you can give them is weeds and veg. And don't forget the tort you are getting grows very big! What you will need is a UVB strip/bulb to give it vital D3 you will also need a heat lamp to keep it warm especially as it's a baby and lastly you will need a basking bulb so it can relax and be warm but with all this you can't scatter them all over the tortoise table you need put them all at one end so that it can have a cool end as well as a warm. Lastly you need an outside enclosure for it because torts are outside creatures and it's not fair to keep them inside for the rest of their life but because it's a baby you should only put it outside when it's warm plus you will have to stay with it at all times because it's so small a predator could easy take and kill it! Hope this helped

shelley11

And also this place might be cheaper to by this stuff and has really quick delivery: Northampton reptile centre

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA