Status
Not open for further replies.

Pinoyfisher

5 Year Member
Quick bio
Name: Mike

Profession: Biotechnician (stem cells)

Interests: Fishing (deep-sea, spearfishing, surf fishing), wildlife

I don't currently own reptiles of any type, but have always loved tortoises and trutles. I do have a few aquariums going with some Austrailian red claw crays and convict cichlids.

Trying to get educated 1st before I take the plunge and get a tortoise. So, a few questions...

What's a great beginner tortoise? Major concerns about owning one? Would eventually like to have a breding pair. Keeping them outdoors a no-no?

Looking forward to some feedback. Thanks!!

spikethebest

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Welcome fellow socalian! I got my Bachelor's in biology, worked in a lab of molecular genetics on X-Linked diseases.

Do you have a backyard or an apartment? that will help determine the type and size of turtle or tortoise you should get.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Mike:

Welcome to the forum!!

I like the Russian as a beginner tortoise. Box turtles are also very forgiving of poor care whilst the care-giver is learning.

Both of these animals are small and fit well into your lifestyle. The box turtle requires a more forest-like habitat with lots of plantings and more water. The Russian likes a drier habitat with open space for "marching."

I had to chuckle at your last statement about having them outside. I'm always telling people that tortoises are wild animals and as such need to be kept outside. The sun (real sun, not lighting) really does wonders for a tortoise's physical AND mental well-being.

While you're doing your research, include the redfoot tortoise. Its a popular tortoise too.

Sweetness_bug

5 Year Member
MICHIGAN
Hi and Welcome! I am newer to the site as well and love it.