Status
Not open for further replies.

akablair2001

5 Year Member
I'm a new member from Chicago. I don't have a tortoise yet, I am deciding what kind to get and looking for ideas. I am a 3rd/4th grade teacher who would bring my tort to and from school. I have a huge basement to build a nice pen and could build one for school (not to big). If anyone has a suggestion or advice I would appreciate it.

Ken

Jacob

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
California
Welcome to the forum, have you researched into getting a russian?
They are great 1st Tortoise's..

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
Hi and welcome! It does seem to be that Russians get picked to be school pets most often. These are just a simple questions, so don't take it wrong, I am just trying to give you more advise, okay. First... why do you want to have a tortoise for a class pet? :tort: When I think basement, my mind flashes to something dark, damp, and sorta cool. What is your basement like? Would this turtle get any outside time? When you say smaller enclosure at school, what size are you thinking? At home enclosure size?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Ken:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

slowpoke

5 Year Member
colorado springs, colorado
Welcome ... i too was wondering the same things as Jacqui ... but for a small first tort i would go with a russian , other than out side time too, will you be able to have the proper light set up in both indoor inclosures you will need a, at the smallest a 4'X2' place for the russian tort....

akablair2001

5 Year Member
Jacob said:
Welcome to the forum, have you researched into getting a russian?
They are great 1st Tortoise's..

I have a little. I'm just not sure if I want to get a baby or rescue one. This is a great forums with great support.

akablair2001

5 Year Member
Jacqui said: