New Arrivals! Help.

axeman25

Location (City and/or State)
Central Michigan
Hello all!,
I am very new to tortoises, in fact, my first one's just got here about 15 minutes ago. I got them through someone who's friend was not able to take care of them anymore. They were shipped to me. The box was a little chilly as it is cold here in Michigan. I removed them and put them under the basking light (which had already been on for several hours warming up that part of the enclosure). I have no idea how old they are really, they a peer to be about 5", maybe a little less. There is a male and two females, they have been together in the same cage since they were hatchlings. I have the ability to separate if needed, but I am not going to do that right now.
My question(s) is: Knowing that they were not taken care of very well, should I soak them the same day I get them?
They are moving around pretty good already, what should I look for to indicate a problem? I will post pictures soon, overall they look healthy and pretty well taken care of, is there anything that I should keep an eye out for with their behavior? Any help is appreciated, thanks

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Russian, right? I usually soak tortoises when I take them out of the shipping box, so, yes soak them.

Be prepared that they may eat well the first day then just hide for a few days after that. This seems to be the norm for tortoises in a new environment.

Looking forward to seeing your pictures.

axeman25

Central Michigan
Yes russians, sorry I got ahead of myself.

I'll soak them right now. They are eating so far. Thanks.

axeman25

Central Michigan
They are soaking right now. I have a nice deep tub, no climbing out for sure. Should I soak them daily for a few weeks or just stick to two or three times a week to start? Thanks again.

smarch

5 Year Member
Massachusetts