My new Russian tortoise isn't doing much.

Yuki Pebbles

I'm Yuki and I just got a Russian tortoise a few days ago. He isn't moving much, I haven't seen him eat or drink, and now he's buried himself in his bedding. What should I do? I'm new to this and very concerned for him.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome. Where are you located? A lot of Russians right now are slowing down or have hibernated due to it being winter. Also new tortoises need to have time to adjust to their new home.
However, you do need to make sure you have correct over all temps, night temps and basking temp. Please read the care sheet under the Russian section and adjust things if needed. If all is correct, then give him time to adjust to his new home.

Yuki Pebbles

Hello and Welcome. Where are you located? A lot of Russians right now are slowing down or have hibernated due to it being winter. Also new tortoises need to have time to adjust to their new home.
However, you do need to make sure you have correct over all temps, night temps and basking temp. Please read the care sheet under the Russian section and adjust things if needed. If all is correct, then give him time to adjust to his new home.
I'm in Arkansas. I have everything set up
The temps are all correct. I'll let him settle down. Thank you.

Jrob

San Antonio, Texas
My one tortoise took a week to start eating a lot. Now his switch is broken and he will not stop eating.

Yuki Pebbles

What are your temperatures, specifically? How hot is it at tortoise height under the basking light? How cold is your over night low? What are you using to measure temperature?
Day temp is 80°F. Night temp is about 70-75°. I'm using a zilla humidity and temperature thermometer that came with the terrarium

SarahChelonoidis

5 Year Member
Toronto, Canada