Im a proud newbie! Hello TF’ers!

cloughnine

Location (City and/or State)
Denver
I’m a caregiver, and one of my clients had a very neglected Ornate Box turtle that lived in a 10 gallon aquarium. There were no lights or heat sources to speak of. This was 4 years ago. Since then I started little by little doing research on “Arnold”, and after all those years of taking care of him, I fell in love with turtles & tortoises. I finally decided I wanted one of my own. I ultimately chose an Eastern Hermann’s tort hatchling. He was just 18 grams, and probably 6 weeks old, I reckon. He’s now approximately 6 months old, and is almost 80 grams, with a 3” long carapace. His/her name is Scout, and I’m almost embarrassed at how much I love this little spirit. Btw, Arnold is very happy living in a tortoise table with a bioactive substrate, large water source, and proper lighting - uvb, etc…
Scout is living in a large vivarium for the time being, and seems to be doing great. Obviously eating like a pig. My only concern is that maybe he’s gaining too much weight too fast, but he goes through spurts of growth - he’s been hovering around 77 grams for a couple of weeks. I’d appreciate some advice on that.
Anyway, I’m John, I live in Denver, and I freaking love turtles/tortoises.View attachment 351154

Attachments

• 1A46EE15-83E5-44FD-9C6C-154F843D3D86.jpeg
    1A46EE15-83E5-44FD-9C6C-154F843D3D86.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 9
  • D320D782-20A3-49DD-BDE3-AF545DBD52D2.jpeg
    D320D782-20A3-49DD-BDE3-AF545DBD52D2.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 7

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
Hello and welcome
As long as what you're feeding him is in line with what he should be eating. Just let him eat

Last edited:

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California