HELP! (found a turtle)

Jacqui_80

My husband saved this box on his way home from work today. It was going to be road kill. :( I'm not sure what kind it is though. I have looked at an asinine amount of information and pics today trying to figure it out. Could y'all please help me? TIA!!

The head is pointed, black, and has white stripes. It reminds me of a musk, but it's hinged!!

Also, I'm new to the forum! We currently live in Louisiana.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    120.6 KB · Views: 102
M

Maggie Cummings

Well, I am rarely correct, but this time I'm pretty sure it's a Stripped Mud Turtle. They come from your area, South Eastern US. But ya don't see them very often.
I'm sure someone will come along, probably Tortadise, and tell you the correct species. We'll see how close I come...

Jacqui_80

I also forgot to mention that it has burrowed into the soil substrate.

I've got 3 aquatic turtles, 2 of which were hatchlings when I got them. I'm completely new to box turtles. It's a small ( maybe 3 inches ) turtle. I set it up in a 10 gallon ( temporary ) aquarium, with a ( for lack of a better word ) bathing bowl, and I used loose coconut fiber substrate with Cyprus mulch. I've put a mix of veggies and fruit on a saucer, along with some box turtle pellets. Am I doing this right?

image.jpg image.jpg

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Jordan
My husband saved this box on his way home from work today. It was going to be road kill. :( I'm not sure what kind it is though. I have looked at an asinine amount of information and pics today trying to figure it out. Could y'all please help me? TIA!!

The head is pointed, black, and has white stripes. It reminds me of a musk, but it's hinged!!

Very sorry, I don't have much experience as far as torts are concerned. This why I joined the forum: I need help when dealing with my tort.

Jabuticaba

5 Year Member
Winnipeg, MB