Galapagos in San Diego

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
Now I am no expert but that tortoise looks aldabrish to me, anyone else?

CtTortoiseMom

5 Year Member
CT
Yvonne or Greg could tell us. Yvonne posted something awhile back about the difference between Aldab's and Galop's, it has something to do with their eye placement or noses I think??? I am off to find that thread...

cdmay

10 Year Member!
Somewhere in Florida
It is a Galapagos tortoise although from which island or population is anyone's guess.
It is not an Aldabra tortoise.
The simplest way to tell one from the other is that Galapagos tortoises do NOT possess a nuchal scute and Aldabras DO. The nuchal scute is that little one in the center of the carapace just above the head.

fbsmith3

5 Year Member
Worcester, MA
Ok I give up, how is this turtle on craigslist?
Aren't they extremely rare? I'm surprised to even see one in private hands, there must be many zoos begging for such a fantastic animal.

or maybe I am foolish.

Laura

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Foothills above Sacramento CA
a few members here own one.. or is it just one? they do occasionally come on th market.. but who can afford that price! ?

dmmj

10 Year Member!
CA
I know of only one member who owns one, they are perfectly legal to sell in the states and you don't need a permit if you sell it within the same state, the high price and very very few breeders make them not common .

ewam

5 Year Member
Southern Ca.
fbsmith3 said:
Ok I give up, how is this turtle on craigslist?
Aren't they extremely rare? I'm surprised to even see one in private hands, there must be many zoos begging for such a fantastic animal.

or maybe I am foolish.

That is true, and he lives in San Diego which is where the San Diego zoo is. I was there a few months ago at the San Diego zoo and they had at least 30 galopagos torts there.

EricIvins

5 Year Member