Full grown THBs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jabuticaba

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Winnipeg, MB
Hi, all! I have a question for the experts and experienced people: How long does it take for THBs to reach full size?

I wonder if my guys are still growing because they're both exactly 5" long and everything I have read and pictures I have seen suggest that they can get bigger, but I also don't know their ages. My friend and I guesstimate is 6 years for the female, as she was only 3" when my friend got her. We have no guesstimate on the male, as he hasn't grown since my friend got them, 4 yrs ago. Tkx!!

peasinapod

5 Year Member
Switzerland
Hi,

I am not an expert, but my THB male maxed out at 7 inches, but his age is unknown. But 5 inches and hasn't grown? That's tiny!

Terry Allan Hall

5 Year Member
The Republic O' Tejas
Jabuticaba said:
Hi, all! I have a question for the experts and experienced people: How long does it take for THBs to reach full size?

I wonder if my guys are still growing because they're both exactly 5" long and everything I have read and pictures I have seen suggest that they can get bigger, but I also don't know their ages. My friend and I guesstimate is 6 years for the female, as she was only 3" when my friend got her. We have no guesstimate on the male, as he hasn't grown since my friend got them, 4 yrs ago. Tkx!!

Your male may grow a bit more, your female most likely will become considerably larger. Give 'em good food and plenty of it.

My male, Ptolemy, is 6" long, one female, Ophelia, is a bit over 9" while Jennifer, my other female, is about 8-3/4". I know Jennifer is about 5 yoa, because I know the person who bred her. No idea on the other two, but would guessistimate (excellent word!) that they're both of similar vintage (2007 or 2008). Presumably they'll grow a little more as time goes by.