Cracked shell. new owner of russian tortoise

Supriya Bharath

My russian tortoise's shell seems to be cracking. i am new to tortoises and i am worried that i am not looking after her right. I do add calcium supplement in her food but how much should i be adding? I fed her every day (20mins worth of greens). She does not seem to spend much time under the heat lamp either. She leaves all the supplement i add with greens, how ever well i mix it. What should i do?

20151203_151512.jpg

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Most Russian Tortoises are wild caught so some of that is normal . You can help a little by adding humidity . Check out Tom's care sheets in the Russian section .

Eggtort

Location (City and/or State)
United States
I can't give any advice on how to completely fix it, but I can add suggestions for an alternative to supplements? This sounds like a powdered supplement. Have you tried cuttlefish bone yet? Also how is your soaking schedule?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi,and welcome to the forum!

Your new wild-caught Russian tortoise might benefit from a shell topical. I don't normally advise using topicals on tortoise shells, but your tortoise's shell looks very dry. You can either use cold pressed, extra virgin coconut oil or mineral oil. Put a bit n the shell and rub it in well. Allow it to soak in for a half hour or so, then polish it all off with an absorbent cloth. Don't leave it on because it attracts dirt.

Supriya Bharath

Thank you Yvonne. I will try that for a few days. She is not eating the calcium supplement i put over the greens for her. She either leaves those leaves or dusts them off. How do I make her eat the calcium?

Hi,and welcome to the forum!