Begginer needing some advice!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

christian_00

5 Year Member
Hello everyone, I am new in this whole tortoise world, so l need some advice and guidance, to know if I set up the right place for CRUSH (my male Juvenile Sulcata). For his place lm using play sand, l am not using any substrate, The temperature in the hot side is from 75 to 80 degrees and the cold side is from 60 to 65 (which is the side where he eats). He gets from one to two hours of natural sunlight, he loves pumpking puree, his water bowl is always with clean water. Also the UV light is on for about 12 hours. The garden you can see in the left side has regular soil, l took it from my yard and its always humid n fresh, he loves to eat from it. I do not know if what l'm doing is right, or what is that l need?

About CRUSH, he looks pretty active, when he is awake. He eats, his shell looks healthy. But please, any advice or recommendation is more than welcome, like l said l'm new in this, and l really want to give CRUSH a great place and healthy life.

Attachments

• IMAG0198.jpg
    IMAG0198.jpg
    865.9 KB · Views: 24

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi christian_00, and welcome to the Forum!

Nice enclosure. I think its a good size for his current size, but he's going to outgrow it quickly.

I'm not a big fan of using sand as a substrate. Its too easy for it to get stuck to their food and ingested. This might cause impaction.

M

Maggie Cummings

Sand causes impaction, get cypress mulch or orchid bark or just plain topsoil. I believe your temps are too cold. Hot should be 95 to 100 and cold shouldn't get passed 75

StudentoftheReptile

5 Year Member
Alabama