Worried that I have a problem.

Eric Stevenson

Location (City and/or State)
Kentucky
Hello everyone,

I am new to owning a Tortoise. I bought him on 10-20-23. he was very small when I got him and the store owner didn't know his age. he weighed 1.4 oz. I had him about a week and thought everything was normal since I haven't ever owned a Tortoise. He slept a lot and didn't move much. He eat very little. I feed him dandelions, grass and everything I looked up. he eat very rarely. Then I realized that the pet shop charged me for 2 tortoises and I elected to get another tortoise instead of the refund. But when I brought the other home, I found out fast something may be wrong. Also dont know the age off the new one but it weighs 2.2 ounces. He Eats A-lot more and is more active. The shell on the 1st one is soft. The new one is hard. I called the pet shop and they said it was normal. I did research on this problem and bought a uv meter, T5 HO UVB 12 Reptile Light. Mercury Vapor Bulb, Humidifier, Calcium Supplement, and Vitamins. I have been using all of this since about December 1st. I read to give them the soak with carrot baby food. I have and regular soaks also. I really haven't seen much improvements. He almost completely stopped eating and was trying anything. I found he would eat canned carrots, frozen broccoli and yellow squash. Only after I soak him. I know they should not eat that but I figured its better than no food. I have been adding calcium powder and vitamin spray on what every he eats. I recently just bought sand with calcium in it to try. I think my temps and humidity are good from what I have looked up. I have been spending a lot of time trying to get him where he should be and starting to feel helpless. That why I came here. Thanks

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello everyone,