Vicious Russian

alleycat_pink

Location (City and/or State)
Bristol, England, UK
Hi I'm quite new to tortoise keeping so forgive my ignorance. my Russian Tortoise is about 4 years old and had suddenly become quite vicious. As soon as i put my hand in his enclosure he chases my hand (literally runs after it) with his mouth wide open, I'm sure he would bite if i let him. How can i calm him down?

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
My first question would be if you are hand feeding him? Then are you wearing fingernail polish? If those simple thoughts are not the issue, then it's going to be a bit more of a challenge to "stop" the behavior.

alleycat_pink

Bristol, England, UK
It is quite funny to see him chase around with his mouth open but i would hate him to bite one of the kids. He is kept in an indoor table top, as soon as i go near him he starts. I don't wear nail polish. Do you think it could be lack of space now he is getting bigger?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
It might be lack of room to exercise, but I think he's just being protective of his territory. Male Russians don't want other 'tortoises' in their territory, and in his eyes, you're another tortoise.

Shakudo

5 Year Member
The Netherlands
Does your tortoise also bobs his head at you? That might be another indication of territorial behavior.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
Hi I'm quite new to tortoise keeping so forgive my ignorance. my Russian Tortoise is about 4 years old and had suddenly become quite vicious. As soon as i put my hand in his enclosure he chases my hand (literally runs after it) with his mouth wide open, I'm sure he would bite if i let him. How can i calm him down?
I am laughing really hard right now...they are very tenacious for sure....have you ever hand fed the ruffian?

Magilla504