Very First Tortoises.

Status
Not open for further replies.

holliewould

5 Year Member
I obtained three tortoises today all in the effort to reduce the amount of animals a good friend had obtained. She suddenly found herself VERY overwhelmed once they were counted up. Something like 30 or so animals in a small trailer, so I offered to take the tortoises and cannot be happier. I do know that their diet consisted of 100% lettuce and other greens that she obtained from her job at a restaurant. As well, I do know they never EVER had water in their 5' x 3' pen. According to her, they obtained all of their hydrating needs from the vegetables she fed them. I personally don't feel comfortable with leaving any pet without water, so they have a shallow concrete bird bath in a 50' x 25' enclosed yard.

I am new to tortoises, so let me tell you a bit about them. Attached are the Sulcata's right after I pulled them from a good soaking. They do have some pyramiding, but I have seen worse on the forums. Their shells are very dry, and seemed to have absorbed the water and dried out almost immediately after the soak. I want to wean them 100% from the restaurant vegetables. Right now they have eaten everything wild in my yard. I am in the Florida keys and have a lot of plants they adore, especially cactus. The largest one, Large Marge, has been non stop walking around. She is about 15 lbs. I would say. The smaller Sulcata (2lbs.) has been doing nothing but eating the weeds. Finally, the last tortoise is a Red Foot, or Cherry Head? and same for her (2lbs.) has been just eating away.

I am very excited to get these awesome creatures into fine health. They were taken care of, but they were in a VERY small area and have obviously been on a terrible diet, to which I do not blame my friend. Anyway, I am glad to have found this forum as I have learned a great deal from lurking. Thank you for listening, and any/all advice or criticism is welcome. :)

Attachments

• IMAG0065.JPG