Tortoise problem

All my tortoise does is sleep and lay under the basing bulb. He eats but not as much and he isn't pooping. I soak him once a week and spray him twice a day and when I do soak him he just sits there. I give him calcium twice a day. His humidity is 40%, his basking area is 95 degrees, at night temps are 60 degrees, I feed him squash, bell peppers and kale (he loves kale!). I just don't know what's wrong with him ...... P. S I just got him on Christmas.

turtlepiano

5 Year Member
I am still learning but I know that the forum tort experts will need more info. Send a pic of the enclosure. Also what bulbs are you using. They'll probably want you to bring the night time temps and humidity up. If it's sick and still eating you've probably caught it early. You'll get good advice on here. Good luck.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
First, that is too much calcium. A small pinch once or twice a week is enough. Too much is as bad as too little. Also, a bigger variety for the diet is needed. I also would raise the night temps too 70. They are used to hibernating. A higher temp will help for night, 60 is not too low of a temp though, but in winter I don't let mine get that low as I don't hibernate mine. Also what are your day temps? You only mention the basking. The day temp I would make 80.

First, that is too much calcium. A small pinch once or twice a week is enough. Too much is as bad as too little. Also, a bigger variety for the diet is needed. I also would raise the night temps too 70. They are used to hibernating. A higher temp will help for night, 60 is not too low of a temp though, but in winter I don't let mine get that low as I don't hibernate mine. Also what are your day temps? You only mention the basking. The day temp I would make 80.
Sorry, not twice a day I meant twice a week. His daytime temperature is 82 degrees. I feed him squash, bell pepper &kale.

Tom

The Dog Trainer