Tortise needs UV

Aaron hinckley

Hi im new to tortise keeping. I just got a red foot tortoise. Hes in a greenhouse and ive taken care of his food, water and heat. The greenhouse material filters out UV. Any suggestions on how to get him to stay under a UV lamp. He has 160 sqft of space. How much time does he need to be under it? He has a little house with a heater under it.

Markw84

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)
Hi im new to tortise keeping. I just got a red foot tortoise. Hes in a greenhouse and ive taken care of his food, water and heat. The greenhouse material filters out UV. Any suggestions on how to get him to stay under a UV lamp. He has 160 sqft of space. How much time does he need to be under it? He has a little house with a heater under it.
Red foot tortoises are indirect baskers for the most part. They rely on both diet and reflected UVB for their D3 needs. Often, no need for direct basking like many tortoises do. Do you have a panel on the top of the greenhouse you could open to get direct sun at least one day a week? Or some outside time. You could also put a Mercury vapor bulb on a few hours that is near where they eat.

With dietary help for D3, once they are past the yearling stage, UVB would only be needed a few hours a week. With the choices above perhaps one of those could work.

Aaron hinckley

Red foot tortoises are indirect baskers for the most part. They rely on both diet and reflected UVB for their D3 needs. Often, no need for direct basking like many tortoises do. Do you have a panel on the top of the greenhouse you could open to get direct sun at least one day a week? Or some outside time. You could also put a Mercury vapor bulb on a few hours that is near where they eat.

With dietary help for D3, once they are past the yearling stage, UVB would only be needed a few hours a week. With the choices above perhaps one of those could work.
T

Aaron hinckley