THE WONDERFUL ADVICE GIVEN TO ME TO TREAT SICK EASTERN BOXIE

Status
Not open for further replies.

krb1093

5 Year Member
I had someone ask if I could start a thread on how I treated the eastern box turtle and post before and after pics. Just to let people know. THIS IS WHAT PEOPLE TOLD ME TO DO!!!!! THANK YOU, THEIR GREAT ADVICE HELPED SAVE THIS TURTLES LIFE! First let me explain how I got her, She was between our driveway the road. I am the type of person that will pull over and place turtles on the other side of the road out of harms why. I make sure it's the direction they were headed. When I picked her up I noticed her eye's were very swollen, alittle foamy liquid coming from her mouth and she didn't make the hissing sound they make to release the air when trying to box up. Actually she couldn't close completely up. I'm by no means a turtle expert but knew she was sick. Her eye's were so swollen she could barely crack them and from what I could see they were red, hazy, milky and just couldn't see any eye pigment at all. I thought she was blind. I posted a tread and used everyone's advice.

First you have to make a hospital tank. A bin or fish tank with only moist paper towel and shredded newspaper.

Temp needs to be about 85. I put her in a closet with the heat set a 85, loosely cover the top and mist the sides with water. for me it holds humidity at 80%.

Every morning I soak her For 1 hour in Duramycin(tetracycline hydrochloride soluble powder). Add 1/4 teaspoon to every quart of WARM water.

After soaking I take her outside for about an hour and let her roam and get some sun.

She wasn't eating so in mid afternoon I would give her another soak using baby food. I used carrots and sweet potatoes and let her soak in the warm water baby food mix for about 30 minutes.

Before the day ended I'd take her out to roam again for about an hour.

I've been repeating this process for 4 days now and she's doing GREAT.