Sulcatas are aggressive and everyone should stop breeding????

Maiasmom

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
North Carolina
Ok don't jump down my throat for the subject line! I was quoting something I recently read that was posted by a rescue organization. I never knew Sulcatas were overly aggressive and lay 100 eggs a year... Maybe it's because I'm new to all this but the overly aggressive part really had my scratching my head I've been around adults males and females and they never seemed aggressive towards people, I can see that being said during mating to another male competing but this was pointed towards people.
"sulcatas are the third largest species of tortoise in the world weighing up to 200 pounds or more, attaining this size in a very short period of time. Adult female sulcatas can easily produce 50 -100 eggs a year" "destructive non-housebroken animal of this size. A fully-grown sulcata is strong and aggressive"
I'm assuming in this one they are talking about wild caught ones? "These include infecting native wildlife with parasites and foreign diseases"

Can anyone else shed some light on this please

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
They are bulldozers for sure. If they want it moved they will move it . If they can't move it they try to dig under it or climb over it. They will ram people if they fill threatened. But for the most part I have never heard of one eating a person. But they do lay a lot of eggs . They are baby makers . I do think we should try to rescue the ones that need homes not buy them from breeders . Don't hit me I know a lot of you guys breed them . Thats why we live in the USA we have the freedom to do what we please . But someone sounds like they got rammed by a big sulcata at a overwhelmed rescue facility. :D

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California