Some general behvior/health questions for Bells HB.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crabbityjoe

5 Year Member
1. Bowel movements: how often is normal? Turk has had 2 Since we got him about 3.5 weeks ago. They've been huge though and only during a soak.

2. Breathing: not panting, but audible, like he's whistling through his nose. Not always, but often.

3. After scarfing down a pile of worms, his eyes watered like crazy and snapped his jaws/ yawned. Normal?

4. Do tortoises take in moisture/water through their cloaca during a soak?

Please forgive any naivety on my part, I'm still new to tortoises.

Thanks!

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
Mine seem to do most of their BMs while soaking, too. Does he soak on his own or only forced soaks? How often is based upon how much they are eating and digesting. He may also be eating any stools he has out in his enclosure. Whistling is something I have saw a couple of Bells do, when they are under stress. Double check that everything within his enclosure is good, lights, temps, humidity, privacy, enough room. Often when this has happened it has been a new animal that is dealing with moving kinds of stress. I have not noticed eyes watering after eating worms, but the snapping I have witnessed a few times.

Crabbityjoe

5 Year Member
Jacqui said: