Newbie here

LingaB

Location (City and/or State)
Georgia
Hey everyone! My family and I are in Georgia and our son has been asking for about a year for a tortoise. We have decided on a Sulcata and for the last few months we have been researching the sulcata, what we need to build a turtle table, how to care for them, etc.

We live in the country on acreage and homeschool(we've been taking on the research as a little project). We think a sulcata is perfect for us. Heck, we have an English Mastiff and a Rhodesian Ridgeback... go big or go home, right?

I've been reading the posts here for awhile, but finally decided to create an account and say Hey!

For first timers, is it better to get a hatchling? Or one that is a little more established? We are still looking for a breeder somewhat local or someone that will ship?

TechnoCheese

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Lewisville, Texas
Welcome, and thank you for joining BEFORE getting a tort!
A tortoise table won’t work for Sulcatas, because it’s impossible to hold the correct humidity in them.
If you haven’t already, give these links a read :)
How To Raise A Healthy Sulcata Or Leopard, Version 2.0 https://tortoiseforum.org/index.php...ealthy-Sulcata-Or-Leopard,-Version-2.0.79895/
For Those Who Have a Young Sulcata... https://tortoiseforum.org/index.php?threads/For-Those-Who-Have-a-Young-Sulcata....76744/
Beginner Mistakes https://tortoiseforum.org/index.php?threads/Beginner-Mistakes.45180/
I would buy from a breeder here on the forum. No better place to get one!
I think it’s your choice whether you get a hatchling or an established one. I started with a hatchling, and even while not getting the greatest of care, he survived and is growing rapidly! But hatchlings are still fragile, and I think the key to a thriving one is correct humidity and temps. Get those correct, and you’ll be smooth sailing :)

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA