Newbie here

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoshgOC

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Lake Forest, S. Orange County, CA
Hi. I just joined as I have just acquired two Ibera Greeks (most likely both male... yes, I know they might fight) and looking forward to advice on care. I've been exhaustingly researched all kinds of aspects/tort species over the past few weeks and decided on Greeks over Russians. For climate reference, I live in Southern, CA, about 6 miles from Laguna Beach. We have the beach close by yet the weather is much warmer as we're in a valley of sorts. A sunny day in winter is 65-75º and in summer is 70-100º.

Tort home: I/we built an outdoor pen, etc. which includes a 50gal. deck box for their outdoor enclosure that's hooked up to one 150watt CHE governed by a rheostat and thermometer. I was going to get a thermostat, but found it's a waste unless I could afford a day/night controlled version ($$$, Habistat, etc.). For now, I guess I'll be changing it manually between morning and night to keep the right temps. The enclosure is a 50sq. ft planter we have but never utilized. It is a typical stucco cinder block retaining wall planter, 18in. high, overhanging caps, has a 8" concrete base (underground) on all sides and 3 of the sides is all patio slab. We planted some edible/non-toxic plants for them so far, an extra stone-built hide, etc. I will say it looks great compared to a ton of pens I've googled. We have a large yard as well with bermudas grass so they can graze on/play while monitored.

We got them the other evening, sadly haven't been home to watch them feed yet (just nibbles). Today, we just left them dishes full of food/water. We work full time so leaving them food in the morning is our only option M-F.