New tortoise problems

Zahidandyoshi

Hi guys ,
I'm new to all of this and yesterday I bought my first 8 month old horsefield tortoise. I spent most of my night checking up on her ( I'm paranoid)
Her tortoise table consist of top soil and some straw.
I currently have a normal halogen lamp for her, however I have just ordered a UV/ heat bulb , which I'll replace as soon as it arrives. Will she cope these next few nights ? The house is usually warm, she has been eating the usual weeds and Has pooed but it's raining outside so I can't let her out.
I've sat her in a little tray of shallow like warm water , and she hates it, will she adapt ?
Sorrrryyy for being so panicky guys haha
Zahid

Donna/Turbo

Location (City and/or State)
Banner Elk, NC
Welcome and glad you found us. There will be several people here to give you the best advice possible. Read as much as you can and you wont believe how fast you catch on to the correct way of raising a tortoise. I have bought probably 8 different bulb before I got the temp and humidity correct. Just be patient and listen to all the good advice you will get. Good Luck.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:). The straw is not a good substrate, take that out. The tort will be fine until the right bulb makes it but what are you using for night heat if needed? Check for a care sheet under your species thread in the beginning of this forum and most of your questions should be answered. If not, come back and ask away. Btw, most of us started out the same nerves wreck as you, so no problems there.

crimson_lotus

10 Year Member!
Massachusetts
It's always good to soak them. If they don't like it, too bad!! It will keep them hydrated and will get them to poop when they try to escape.

Jodie

5 Year Member
Spokane Valley WA