new to the tortoise world

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle20

5 Year Member
We are new and have not gotten our tort yet. I am wanting to do all the research before hand we are looking to be getting one next year so I have an entire year to create his/hers stomping grounds. We are looking to get a sulcata tortoise. So far everything I read they are pretty difficult to manage needing special heat and one site I read they said no fruits or veggies only grass and weeds which I knew that but not the veggie thing is this true or is it only in moderation. Also we live in arizona which is close to the Sahara desert in temperature (at least it feels like it) :p so we do live in the perfect place for the sulcata but it is the winters I'm worried about. What have you found to be the best way to build a home for them once they live outside? Are there any books that are better than others to help us along.
I'm a vet tech so I have all the medical help needed to keep them healthy. But I need help from you guys that have had the experience with the tortoise. I'm only small animal. But I have a great exotic vet that we go to. He sent me here to see what others have to say. Thank you

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:) please read Toms threads below in my post on raising a sulcata. Then also look up his other threads, he has many that may be helpful in your research.

N2TORTS

5 Year Member
Welcome to the Forum ….. You will find a wealth of knowledge in here first hand as well as a great group of folks talking torts. Sit back enjoy and let the fun begin!
JD~:)

tiff3grl

10 Year Member!
Arizona