My Redfoot Tortoises have mycoplasma. PLEASE HELP!

BradKellerDA

Location (City and/or State)
Ohio
Can anyone help me with some information on mycoplasma? My vet just diagnosed my group of Redfoot Tortoises with it. I have several other species (all in separate pens) and I'm worried about them all getting it. Any information on this situation would be greatly appreciated.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
it's spread through the body fluids mucus blood & semen

BradKellerDA

Ohio
So as long as they don't come in direct contact with the other tortoises, the other ones will be alright?

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
Was you heard of reddoots bought from different sources?

BradKellerDA

Ohio
what you heard of reddoots brought from different sources?
I got these guys a few months back. This is my first time hearing about mycoplasma and it sounds pretty serious. Like it could wipe out my whole collection.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
It's unusual for RF tortoises to have this. They must have come into contact with a tortoise that had it.

http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1090023314002366

If you're careful and don't step into other tortoise yards in the same shoes, etc. your other tortoises should be safe.

A tortoise with mycoplasma can still live a long and healthy life. He needs to be kept separate from other tortoises and kept in a stress-free environment. The symptoms go away, but the bug never does, so stress may cause the symptoms to flare up.

This paragraph should be of interest to you:

" Although aerosol transmission is possible, control gopher tortoises housed in pens adjacent to clinically affected tortoises did not become clinically diseased or seroconvert, suggesting that M. agassizii did not travel even relatively short distances over low (0.7 m) barriers ( McLaughlin, 1997)."

Last edited:

BradKellerDA

Ohio