My horse field

v.cork

Hi everybody I am new to this I have a male horse field that I adopted last week first reptile I have had so still new to this, I live in England so the weather is pretty much unpredictable anybody have any tips for me to look after my beautiful boy ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1486243044.021756.jpg

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Fes, Morocco
Hello, and a very warm welcome to Tortoise Forum from someone who used to live in chilly England. :)
First read http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/
and http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/
Please ask if you have any questions.
Russians are a small species but require a lot of space. Walking also helps with their digestion.
They need a minimum enclosure area of 8 feet by 4 feet.
For substrate you need coco coir, orchid bark or cypress mulch, straw and wood shavings are too dry, not good for burrowing into and if moistened can become moldy and dangerous.

v.cork

Thank you for that it was very interesting to read, at the minute pebbles (my tortoise) has sawdust down and hay as I read online this was ok I will be changing it tomorrow now I know, he is having dandelions and other greenish weeds I bought today from a reptile shop, his beak is quite big and he doesn't like to be handled how can I make him more relaxed in our home ??

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco
A good food guide I like is http://www.chelonia.org/Articles/nutrientanalysis.htm
The ones in bold are best.
You can carefully trim the beak with nail clippers or a dremmel if it's too long, if too big a vet may need to do it.
Can you post a clearer photo , but from what I can see, it does need a trim, yes, just a little at a time.