moving to new state

Travis&Marshmallow

Location (City and/or State)
Saratoga CA
Hello everyone

I will be moving from CA to AZ with my 100lb male sulcata, Marshmallow. We are trying to make this trip the least stressful it can be and were hoping to get some tips from anyone who has made a similar move. It will be about a 12hr drive total and we are planning to split it into 2 days. He would either drive with me in the back seat of my car in a tub with his favorite foods or ride in an air conditioned trailer driven by my partner's dad. Marshmallow is a very feisty guy and I want to keep him as happy as possible for this trip. We have considered giving him sedation, I am a veterinarian, and have wondered if anyone has tried this before.

Thanks for your help.

Tim Carlisle

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Cincinnati, OH
I don't think sedation is warranted, let alone safe. Please don't do that. If you have a tub large enough to suit a 100 lb sully, then I'd use that. Just put plenty of towels in the bottom to keep it from sliding around and to add a little extra shock absorbency. If you're dividing the trip up into 2 days, then that shouldn't be too bad.

zovick

10 Year Member!
Hello everyone

I will be moving from CA to AZ with my 100lb male sulcata, Marshmallow. We are trying to make this trip the least stressful it can be and were hoping to get some tips from anyone who has made a similar move. It will be about a 12hr drive total and we are planning to split it into 2 days. He would either drive with me in the back seat of my car in a tub with his favorite foods or ride in an air conditioned trailer driven by my partner's dad. Marshmallow is a very feisty guy and I want to keep him as happy as possible for this trip. We have considered giving him sedation, I am a veterinarian, and have wondered if anyone has tried this before.

Thanks for your help.