Introduction and Recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.

BEOWULFF

5 Year Member
Just joined the forum. I should have joined years before. I have been raising a Russian for the last three years. He is healthy despite my ignorance and doing ok. But I have been concerned that I could improve his (I think Tux is a he) life by making some changes in habitat and food. I should mention that I got the whole tank outfit as a birthday gift many years ago and until I found your forum I have been trying to figure out and sort out all the recommendations for tortoise care on the web. Relying on Petco or PetsMart is making me nervous. Your help will be greatly appreciated by my tortoise and me.

I live in Arkansas. The tank is 30" x 12". Currently, I am using Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate and a Zoo Med Thermo UTM pad against the side wall along with a 11W Powersun UV lamp. On one side wall I have a Zoo Med Turtle Hut and on the other side a large water basin. Food consists of romaine lettuce and Zoo med grassland tortoise food and miner-all supplement. I've installed a Powersun UV lamp for the day. I keep the tortoise in the tank and except for cleaning the tank or allowing him to roam about on my desk I do not let him out.

So.... what do I need to change, update, add to my set up to make my tortoise as comfortable and healthy as possible?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Hello and welcome.

Here is what I'd recommend:
1. You need a much bigger enclosure. That size is fine for a tiny hatchling, but he needs bigger now. How about 3x6', 4x4' or even bigger?
2. Ditch the coil bulb. Those can damage their eyes.
3. Ditch the heat pad.
4. If your Powersun is a mercury vapor bulb, that is all you will need. A night time cool down is good for russians.
5. Your water bowl might be inappropriate. They need it very shallow and sunk into the substrate.