Incubation Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

SulcataPardalis

5 Year Member
I am realtively new to breeding tortoises. I have been keeping them for over 15 years, but it has only been the last 18 months that I have had success in breeding them.

The following is my setup

P1040482+-+Copy+%28480x640%29.jpg

This is my incubator - I know the temp is reading low, but I have just opened the door to check and air the eggs.

I use vermiculite and place each clutch laid in a plastic box with holes drilled in the top. I make the vermiculite so that it holds water, but isn't dripping wet.

P1040485+-+Copy+%28640x480%29.jpg

However, I seem to be getting only about 60% hatch rate. As you can see from this photo, two eggs appear infertile (orange ish) and one is starting to go mouldy.

P1040486+-+Copy+%28640x480%29.jpg

P1040488+-+Copy+%28640x480%29.jpg

Which is a real shame, as they all appear to 'chalk' after laying.

What am I doing wrong? I simply make a depression in the vermiculite and place the egg in it. Should I be burrying them further?

Temps are kept at 31/32 degrees.

Any advice would be very much appreciated for next season eggs.

Thanks for looking.

Arizona Sulcata

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Mesa, AZ
Looks like you're doing things right. The hatch rate for myself is usually similar. In most cases just like in any other animal, fertilization is usually around 45% so at 60% you're doing great!

ALDABRAMAN

KEEPER AT HEART
10 Year Member!
SW Forida
Sounds like things are good, hatch rates are determined by fertility, not egg volume. I also eventually check every egg for fertility after the incubation period is well over, if all fertile hatched, 100% hatch rate.

How do you control the temps in your incubator?

SulcataPardalis

5 Year Member
I have a habstat pulse thermometer controlling a ceramic heater. Works very well with stable temps throughout the incubator.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club