I am a new member and need help!

Scarfoot05

Hi! My name is Jenny and I am new to this thread. I live in AZ and I have a female desert tortoise whom I've had for 11 years. I got her when she was 6 months old. My question is she has not woken up out of hibernation yet. I have checked on her weekly and she is still alive. She has been hibernating now for 6 months now. Way too long. I plan on waking her up tomorrow. My plan is to put her in the grass in the sun for awhile and once she starts to wake I'll put her in a warm bath to drink. Has anyone had a tortoise that has hibernated this long? Why would she not wake up sooner? Im worried about her. The weather has been warm one week and then we had a cold front, but this week it's been hot. So I thought she would of came outta her cave by now.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
I would get her up and do just what you've outlined above.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I don't have any that hibernates, but a couple members had Box Turtles not wake up when they normally do. I believe they too had to wake them.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California