Hi all.

Jhaa

Location (City and/or State)
LARNE
Hi all, I am new to all this forum stuff, with me being 29 you would think I would have all the Internet mastered.. Haha.

But anyway, for past couple of years I really wanted to give a tortoise a good home so I recently got a horsefield after doing a good bit of reading about them the past couple of months (obviously there will always be more to learn)

But less of me rambling on.. I just wanted to introduce myself.

Here's a few wee pics I took on Snapchat earlier lol.. This is wee Erick in his tortoise table, any ideas on what I can put in with him to keep him happy would be appreciated. (I've got a few stones from the seaside for him to let him climb over, but I'm just soaking them in hot water and changing it everyday to make sure all the sea salt has been washed off.. I have found out his favourite food is kale, but he does get some other vegetables mixed in with it, like, a few bits of broccoli tops bell peppers and some we bits of chopped carrots (only now and again because we know there's is carbs in carrots lol).. And he has had grapes but doesn't really eat them so I have removed them from his diet plan lol.
I never purchased dry food because I always have leafy veg in the house and out in the garden.

Thanks

J

Snapchat-1925783894.jpgSnapchat-1648984990.jpgDSC_0386.JPG

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Hi and welcome. This is a great place for up to date information and its surprising how much there is to learn about torts!
Are you in the UK? Our pet shops/breeders tend to call Russians 'Horsefields' but maybe they do in other places too.
Have a look at www.thetortoisetable.org.uk which is a great guide to better foods for your torts and will tell you what are safe/toxic or should only be fed in moderation. Some of your foods aren't great for regular feeding and fruits have sugars which torts digestive systems can't deal with.