Help! Eyes seam to be getting cloudy in the corners?

Amccoul516

Location (City and/or State)
Asheville, NC
What can I do to help my baby before I can get to the vet. Are there safe drops I can buy at a local store. I have been washing her more often. Any specific type of food or vitamins that are geared towards eye health. What conditions are optimal? Thank you in advance.
Adam

Amccoul516

Asheville, NC
I can post some pictures at lunch time if that would help. Mary also seams to get startled easily, sort of like she can't see me until I'm close.

Amccoul516

Asheville, NC
Here are some pics of my enclosure. I have a reptisun mercury vapor uvb, uva bulb. I had a coil type bulb for a year before that. I had no idea they could do harm. I will post some pics of Mary's eyes when I get home.image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

amy&alfie

North West England
Hi,

I'm new to this but my baby horsfeild has a cloudy/swollen eye. I traveled an hour to take him to the closest reptile vet and I'm now giving him an antibiotic that she said was really safe. It's called chloramphenicol and is the same dosage as in optrex infected eye drops you get from a pharmacy (don't tell them it's for your tort!), she said three times a day, and keep it in the fridge. I've continued with that and I'm bathing him/rinsing his eye at least once a day he struggles most in the mornings so to help him open it I bath him. He is getting better, not sure if it's the same thing but thought it may be helpful to you. I'll post a pick of his eye. Get well soon to your tort!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    759.9 KB · Views: 32
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    665.8 KB · Views: 33

crimson_lotus

10 Year Member!
Massachusetts
Your enclosure looks a bit dry, do you moisten the substrate at all? Looks like you didn't put very much substrate, either. They do like to dig themselves little holes from time to time.