Hello all, introducing my babies

Moore

Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum and my quarter of baby MEE are new to me as well. Love the species, full of character already at (approx) six months. I'm keeping them in a custom tank, with half of the tank ranging between 70-100% Humidity the other half is 50-60%. I use a 5.0 bulb for uvb. And a 60 watt bulb on the dry side that keeps the temp in the mid seventies. The humid side is kept in the mid seventies with an under the tank cable. Always fresh food and water available. But I have noticed that the little guys spend a great deal of time partially buried on the humid side, and they tend to take a while to open their eyes when woken up. They're eating and pooping as healthy as can be. Just wondering if there's something wrong with the eyes or if it's a species thing. Pictures just for fun

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg

Rue

Location (City and/or State)
Canada
Cute! I am new to tortoises as well...with one baby Hermann's. I'm still new to the jargon as well...what does MEE stand for?

Moore

Cute! I am new to tortoises as well...with one baby Hermann's. I'm still new to the jargon as well...what does MEE stand for?
Manouria emys emys, they're Burmese brown tortoises. Super fun to work with so far

Reactions: Rue

Rue

Canada
Thanks! That helps! :D

I'm glad they're fun! :tort:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I have had success raising these babies in a very humid environment and the whole habitat 80F or a bit more. I keep the substrate not just moist, but actually wet. If you dig down, it's a puddle underneath.

Your eye problem is associated with the low humidity, and could also be due to the light. Is it one of these:

CFL.jpg

juli11

5 Year Member
Europe
Everything ok with the eye? Or do you make the photo "in the wrong moment"?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA